The LPGA rookie award lost to Thailand for the second time in a row will be brought by Yoo Hae-ran, the chief of the Q series.

Yu Hae-ran (21‧ Daol Financial Group), who boasted top-notch skills on the Korea Women’s Professional Golf (KLPGA) tour, is now challenging the world-level American Women’s Professional Golf (LPGA) tour. Korean golf, which recently missed two consecutive LPGA rookie awards, is also looking forward to Yoo Hae-ran’s performance in 2023.

In the final 8th round of the tournament held at the Highland Oaks Golf Course (par 72) in Doseon, Alabama, USA on the 12th (Korean time), Yoo Hae-ran tied 6 birdies and 2 bogeys to hit 4 under par 68.

Yoo Hae-ran, who recorded a final total of 29 under par and 545 strokes, took the top spot, beating Bailey Tardi (USA, 27 under par, 547 strokes).

Yoo Hae-ran, a former national representative, won a silver medal in the team event at the 2018 Asian Games in Jakarta Palembang. And the following year, she entered the KLPGA Tour in 2020 by winning the Jeju Samdasoo Masters of the Korea Women’s Professional Golf (KLPGA) Tour, where she participated as an invited player.

In her debut season, Hae-Ran Yoo performed very well, recording one win and rising to second place in the prize money rankings, earning her the Rookie of the Year award. She has since added 2 wins in 2021 and 1 win this year, bringing her 5 wins to her KLPGA Tour career.

Although she only won one championship this year, she showed consistent performance, competing in 28 events, finishing in the top 10 in 17 안전놀이터 and missing the cut only once. Thanks to her, she ranked high in most indicators, such as 2nd in KLPGA Tour grand points, 2nd in par average, and 4th in prize money rankings.

After her debut on the professional stage, Ran Yu, who has been consistently performing, joined the LPGA, and Korean golf, which struggled in 2022, gained strength.

Korean golf failed to achieve the desired results on the LPGA stage this year. The start was good.

In Korea, Ko Jin-young (27, Solaire) won the HSBC Championship in March, followed by Kim Hyo-joo (27, Lotte) and Ji Eun-hee (36, Hanwha Q Cells), who rose to the top. In June, Jeon In-ji (28‧ KB Financial Group) won the KPMG Women’s PGA Championship, a major tournament.

However, since Jeon In-ji, Korea has not been able to reach the top in 16 consecutive tournaments. This is a record of approaching a long slump in which he did not win even one win in 17 competitions from October 2013 to June 2014.

I couldn’t make a relationship with various personal titles either. Lydia Ko swept the player of the year award, lowest stroke award (Bear Trophy), and money prize.

The Rookie of the Year Award went to Ataya Titikul from Thailand once again following last year. Choi Hye-jin (23‧Lotte) competed for the Rookie of the Year award until the end, but left a disappointing second place.

Starting with Seyoung Kim (29‧Mediheal) in 2015, Inji Jeon, Seonghyeon Park (29‧Solaire), Jinyoung Ko, and Jungeun Lee 6 (26‧Daebang Engineering & Construction), etc., have produced 5 consecutive LPGA Tour Rookie Award winners. It was the result.

In this situation, Yoo Hae-ran’s participation in the LPGA tour is revitalizing Korean golf. Yoo Hae-ran also expressed his determination, saying, “It’s new to play the season as a rookie again following the KLPGA. I’m looking forward to playing on the LPGA stage.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *